BevMo: a Love Story

What light through yonder window breaks? It is the east, and BevMo is the sun.

This weekend I made my first ever trip to a Beverages and More, commonly known as BevMo. It’s the people’s liquor store. While normally I just waddle over to Von’s for my $20 bottle of Tanqueray, I decided to seize the day and try something new. I’m not even technically drinking any form of alcohol for the next month or so since it’s lent, but you can never buy too much alcohol in advance. It’s not like it goes bad…

And it’s a good thing I did stop by the BevMo, because they were having a 5¢ wine sale. You buy one bottle of wine, and the second bottle of the same wine is only 5¢. Essentially this is just a classier way of saying, “hey y’all! Come get some good ass wine for half off!” I mean, if I were a marketer (which I am), I’d have to flip a coin (and I did) to decide which one is better, the “5¢” or the “Good ass wine” slogan. Let’s just say that maybe next year they’ll have to change the logo you see above to more accurately reflect what the consumer wants to see in a sales slogan. But since I wasn’t going to let a sale like this pass me by, I ended up with six bottles of vino; two bottles each of Vinho Verde, a Chilean Cab/Shiraz blend, and an Argentine Malbec/Merlot blend. I was feeling rather Latin after being in the sun all day. The nice lady at the cash wrap gave me a case to put them in, and that’s when I realized that I had walked to the BevMo from my house, roughly 5 blocks away. On top of that, I was still in my tank top and running shorts from hiking in Griffith Park (which was delightfully free of severed body parts this weekend). So, I moseyed my way down Brand Boulevard, the main thoroughfare in Glendale, with a half-full case of wine in tow. And indeed my case was half-full, not just because I’m the eternal optimist, but also because it was not exactly a light box to carry. I should have used the opportunity to make friends with passersby, but how do you know if they actually want to be your friend, or if they’re just in it for the free booze? Now I know how that poor little Johnnie Walker must feel.

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

One response to “BevMo: a Love Story

Leave a Reply

