50/50 is 100% Awesome

Joseph Gordon-Levitt is the man.

Friday after work, I went with one of my friends to go see 50/50. I’m not entirely sure what I was expecting, but I was a bit of an emotional mess for the majority of the second half of the movie. It manages to get to some really heart-breaking places, especially when it comes to dealing with your own mortality and the effect that has on your relationships with the people you love. At no point did it feel overdone or cliche, either. Bryce Dallas Howard gave another phenomenal performance as the movie’s token bitch, a role she perfected in The Help. I’m beginning to worry that her on-screen strength as a horrible person is reflection of the real-life Bryce. The mother-son combo of Angelica Houston and Joseph Gordon-Levitt is also amazing. They need to start putting her back in movies. The Adams Family and The Life Aquatic were not enough. She plays the most amazing overly dramatic mother I’ve ever seen, and I come from a long line of overly dramatic mothers (hey mom!). But that wasn’t the only reason the movie hit a little too close to home; cancer runs in my family, and we’re actively dealing with several family members’ battles with the disease. I would only encourage family members of cancer patients to see this movie if they need a good long cry, and maybe a little dash of hope at the end. Also, it helps to take a friend who will say inappropriate things during the sad parts. Right before Joseph Gordon-Levitt goes into surgery, I was sobbing like a baby when my friend Tae Hwa said rather loudly, “WHY ARE ALL THE DOCTORS ASIAN!?” It helped to lighten the mood.

I would also be remiss if I didn’t mention the awesome soundtrack. (That’s the one thing that you can always count on if JG-L is in a movie.) I need to find it on iTunes and figure out which songs I don’t have already. Music is one of the things that can instantly reorient my mood in an instant, and boy did the music director for this movie whip my emotions back and forth. Which for the record, is way more profound than whipping one’s hair back and forth.

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

One response to “50/50 is 100% Awesome

Leave a Reply

