What’s Your Number Premiere

Anna Ferris, I don’t care if you’d slept with 50 guys, I’d still love you.

So I’m pretty sure I can check “first celebrity sighting” off my LA to-do list. Last night I was at the World Premiere for the new Anna Ferris movie, What’s Your Number, due out September 30th. I managed to find tickets through a banner ad online, which initially made me skeptical, but it all worked out in the end. My +1 and I had a lovely time. At the screening we got to see Anna Ferris, Chris Evans, Zachary Quinto, and were only a couple rows back from David Annabel. For the record, they all look as good (if not better) in person. I have since decided this is the only suitable way to watch movies and require their company upon any further viewing occasion, regardless of if they’re in said film. This applies to watching Netflix on my couch as well. I’m sure they’ll be amenable to that, right? I’ll even throw in some sno-caps for good measure. Not that any of them have touched carbs in like 1,000 years.

As for the movie itself, I’m in love. It was definitely a rom-com, and the story line fit that general framework. Girl doesn’t want to be with guy, girl falls for guy, girl and guy both do something stupid to mess it up, throw in a wedding scene for good measure, girl and guy end up together in the end. Oh, yeah, um… spoiler alert? Whatever. Like you didn’t see that coming from a mile away. They don’t put Chris Evans in a movie to NOT get the girl at the end. But the writing was really good, and Anna Ferris’ delivery is priceless. There’s something about her voice that just makes her funnier that most people, and she tops it off with all those crazy faces and accents. She also had really amazing on-screen chemistry with Chris Evans. The one scene where the two of them end up going out on what looks oddly like a date (note: there may or may not be a game of strip HORSE in the Boston Garden involved) made me all warm and fuzzy on the inside. It also prompted me to begin planning a way to steal a key to the Staples Center so that I too can strip in an NBA arena while on a date. And of course, no film would be complete without Blythe Danner, my lovely Blythe Danner, mother to my idol Gwyneth Paltrow, who plays Anna Ferris’ mother. She does the New England WASP role so well, I wanted to go home and watch an episode of Will & Grace where she plays Will’s mom.

All in all, it was a very good movie. It’s definitely one that I’ll own when it comes out on DVD so that I can watch it while eating tubs of ice cream and crying, or the girls are over for a sleep-over and we’re braiding each others hair, or just because you can only watch The House Bunny so many times before you need another Anna Ferris movie to break up the monotony. Check the trailer below, and let me know what you think!

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

