Labor Daybor

Nominated for 12 Academy Awards (I’m guessing…)

This past Labor Daybor weekend, I spent time with my aunt up in Santa Barbara. Somehow in between the many times we sat down to eat yet another pre-South-Beach “last carb supper”, we managed to find time to go see The Help. There is a lot I could say about this movie, much of which has already been said. There is no doubt in my mind that this will be nominated for (and hopefully win) several awards come February/Awards Season. In a world where political candidates get more votes by spreading hatred for minorities, we could all stand to see a few more movies like The Help… which leads me to what I’d really like to talk about.

I didn’t grow up in the deep South, but there was still quite a deal of intolerance in my hometown. As a kid, and especially in high school, I both experienced and witnessed others experience what it feels like to be on the receiving end of a lot of ignorance and hate. It didn’t really matter what made you “different”, just that you were different. It may be because of these experiences, but I often find it hard to watch movies where there’s social injustice. I get palpably angry, heart racing, ready to punch a wall. The sad thing is, not everyone is as disturbed by the kinds of injustice found in The Help. God knows not a lot of the teachers in my schools were, otherwise they wouldn’t have let it go on. My point is, while the problems might not be as strikingly as segregated bathrooms anymore, the attitudes from that era still linger today. All you have to do is turn on a Republican Presidential Debate to see those people who wish to lead our country publicly insult Muslims (any non-Christians for that matter), gays, immigrants, and the list goes on. It seems some people think we still only have room for the “whitest” of white in our country. The Help gives us an opportunity to reflect on this sad state of intolerance, not just based on race, but gender, creed, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender orientation, etc. If there is one thing that I wish everyone could take away from that movie, it would hope they would be a little more loving and accepting. It would do the world a whole lot of good.

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

