Wilfred the Pot-smoking Dog

Is it bad that I wish this was what my dog was like growing up?

I’ve been meaning to blog about this show for weeks now. Nothing else can please quite like watching a man in a dog suit get high and mess with another man’s sanity. Oh, and did I mention that the man in the dog suit has an Australian accent? The only thing this show doesn’t have is a scrawny former-hobbit. WAIT A MINUTE! It actually does have everything. I have to commend Elijah Wood, because if I was in his position I probably wouldn’t be able to stop laughing. How can you take a man in a dog suit seriously? Especially when he’s talking about all sorts of risque things: positions to hump other dogs, smelling people’s feces, plotting to get small children arrested. This show is all over the place in all the right ways.

Like any show though, the first few episodes are a little harder to get into. Definitely give it about 3-4 episodes and then you’ll be hooked. It takes a bit of convincing to believe you should be enjoying something that seems so juvenile. Essentially, like most FX shows, which is why we love them: Always Sunny, Arthur, The League. FX has definitely won me over. I guess I have to put Rescue Me on my Netflix now… If you need any more convincing, here are some more promo clips from Wilfred.

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

