I’m Back!

Oh yeah, that’s right. AND I’m a stencil graphic.

 

It’s finally here, the moment you’ve all been waiting for, what’s been keeping you up late at night: my recommitting to a regular blogging schedule! Don’t ask how I knew that’s what you really wanted. Some of us just have gifts that can’t be logically explained. I’ve been crazy busy and in a creative funk, so my apologies. But here’s what I’ve been up to while my blog’s been sitting here rotting into internet oblivion:

 

  • Travelling Around the Country
    My work has had me travelling to Chicago, St. Louis, and San Francisco for training. The nice thing is I’ve been able to catch up with some old friends. In St. Louis I stayed with Ben and Adira, who I don’t think I’ve spent that much consecutive time with since 6th grade. One night Adira and I went out to a battle of the bands her friend’s boyfriend was in. Little did we know we’d end up at a truck-stop bar in East St. Louis (which is technically in Illinois, not Missouri) listening to scream-o bands and drinking alcoholic slurpees. Oh, the Midwest, how I’ve missed you and all your charm. I now fully understand why Travel Channel has a show called Truck Stop Missouri.
  • Turning 23 in California
    I officially celebrated my first birthday in California! I’m also now at an uneventful age that some people might consider as being a part of the “mid-twenties”. That scares the shit out of me. In my mind I’m still a 12 year old, who’s allowed to go dig holes in the backyard with his bare hands. In fact, I even went to the beach and dug a huge hole, like Joey does in that episode of Friends. Luckily, there were no jellyfish and no on had to pee on me. One friendly woman did come over and tell me how this one guy almost died digging a hole in the sand. I wasn’t entirely sure her purpose in telling me that story, but I thanked her for sharing such an uplifting and inspiring tale of hole-digging, near-death heroism.
  • Watching The League
    I found this little gem of a show while I was putting together IKEA furniture over the weekend. It’s an entire series about a group of friends and their fantasy football league, and may be the funniest thing I’ve seen on television all year. While there was no pee involved in my beach story, there was definitely at least a little trickle going down my leg while I watched this show, that’s how hard I was laughing. It reminds me a lot of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, very much the same absurd style of humor. Also, there’s a guy on this show named Taco. What’s not to love about that? And it’s absolutely ridiculous the shit these guys (and one gal) do in order to win their league, which leads me to the next thing I’ve been doing…
  • Setting up my own Fantasy Football League
    What? You don’t think I know enough about football to play in a fantasy league? Well, you’re probably right. I know enough to watch the Colts every week and that’s about all the football savvy I care to know, minus the occasional Jets or Saints game. Which is why I’ve recruited a league of “their own.” Yes. The rest of the members in my league are all women. And I’m STILL probably going to get my ass handed to me. Several of these ladies are serious about their football, and one even went to UF, one of the football capitals of the country. I’ll keep you updated as the league actually gets underway, so you can keep up with how embarassingly I’m doing and made disparaging comments about my performance.

 

So that’s what I’ve been up to. Oh, and registering my car in the state of California, which I’ll touch on tomorrow in my open letter to Arnold Schwarzenegger. But enough about me. What have you been up to?

 

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

