Pimps and Their Food: A Love Story

Ain’t she a beaut?

Anyone who’s known me for any duration of time can attest to the fact that I love pimp food. It all started with a Big Gay Ice Cream Truck and the most magical ice cream cone I’ve ever eaten: the Salty Pimp. Well, here in LA, there is a severe shortage of soft serve cones that have been injected with dulce de leche, sprinkled with sea salt and then dipped in chocolate – of any sexual persuasion. Naturally though, I have found myself back at a food truck, looking for more pimp food. What I found last night out in Altadena definitely fixed my craving.

This little nugget of love is what the Shrimp Pimp Food Truck calls “The Victoria”. I got something else, but doesn’t that look delicious? Smoked salmon, shrimp, a few veggies, a butter toasted bun and some spicy aioli? Done and done. I got their sashimi tuna tacos, which blew my mind. I have never even seen a person that was half Mexican half Asian, let alone a taco that had the same heritage. The tuna was cut into little bite-sized chunks, and spiced with lime, pepper, and a few other things I couldn’t put my finger on. My best guess was coriander, maybe cumin. It took some serious will-power to not get anything fried. Their fish and chips were piping hot out of the truck, but the fried shrimp and chips looked even better. You know when people make popcorn shrimp and it’s half breading and almost no shrimp? That’s not how the Pimp cooks his shrimp. It’s very light batter, and the shrimp are HUGE. Everything that came off that truck looked fantastic, and I don’t think there’s a thing on the menu I wouldn’t like to try.

So, if there’s anyone in the LA area who would like to help me stalk this truck every weekend and enjoy some pimp-smacking good food, please let me know. Muchas gras!

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

One response to “Pimps and Their Food: A Love Story

  1. Pingback: » Blog Archive » “Pimps and Their Food: A Love Story”·

Leave a Reply

