Yiayia Doesn’t Approve

Oh, yiayia. I love you.

So Athenos brand has hands down the best commercials I’ve seen in a very long time. I may be biased, as I have a strong addiction to hummus, Greek yogurt, and other various yiayia foods. But it’s like they took My Big Fat Greek Wedding and made it into commercials. I may or may not have heard actual like-minded yiayias, sittos, and other old ethnic women say things that have an uncanny similarity to what’s said in these commercials. Having grown up in a household with the same dietary and cultural implications, I can testify that this is an accurate depiction of inter-generational intercations. Just a few months ago, right before she asked me to go milk the family goat, my grandmother told me that while she was happy I was graduating, that I shouldn’t get too many hangovers in celebration. Not that I shouldn’t drink, mind you. Just not too many hangovers. Does Athenos make Ouzo???

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

