Vlog #Veintitres: Last Day of Class. Ever.

Watch out world, here I come! (And I’m bringing crepes)

It’s weird thinking that I may never take another class ever again. Well, that’s not true. I’m sure I’ll stumble into a spin class here or there out in LA, and will most definitely find my way to a few pastry classes before I die. The point is that today is my last day of college. WOW. I had my final creative writing class this morning, and not only did we discuss Patti Smith’s Just Kids (a great read if you’re looking for something), but I also feel like I learned some valuable life lessons. They are as follow:

  1. There is no such thing as a guilty pleasure
    Don’t apologize for things you like. If you want to jam out to some J-Beibz, by all means. You like reading Twilight? Good for you. If you mix up your film noir with some reality television, rock on mi amigo. You should never be ashamed of any form of art (music, books, film, tv, paintings, etc.) just because other people think it’s a “guilty pleasure.” Those people are just jealous they don’t have the balls to croon to Taylor Swift too.
  2. Crepes are the fondest fairwell
    When all else fails, say goodbye with a crepe. It’s the perfect little breakfast/dessert to treat someone to as you enjoy a long goodbye. If at all possible, make sure you have pumpkin butter, raspberry preserves, and some variety of chocolate hazelnut spread – I recommend Justin’s. These are all adequate ways to be remembered.
  3. There’s a church in the Czech Republic decorated with human bones
    Don’t ask how we got here, but during my class we learned that there is indeed a church about an hour and a half outside of Prague that is decorated with skeletons. Not whole, they’ve been dismembered and used in various patterns. I am personally creeped out and have no desire to ever see it in person, but if you’re curious, please click here.

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

