Blooooood?

 

I wasn’t nearly this cute at the blood drive…

 

So I made a giant leap forward today. HUGE personal progress towards being a well-balanced individual. I gave blood. Yes, me, the perpetually fearful of anything hypodermic, I gave blood. Don’t ask me what came over me, but I decided it would be a good idea at the last minute. I walked in and said, “you know what? I’ll take a pint…. I mean give, give a pint.” You have to understand that I used to be the child that would pass out from the immunization shots we had to get for public school. There was a point in my childhood when I would hyperventilate just at the thought of getting a shot. That I can willingly have a rather large needle stuck in my arm for the better part of a half an hour is a miracle.

Oh yeah, that’s right, it took a half an hour to get an entire pint of blood out of me. For those of you who haven’t given blood, it should have taken half that time. Normally I’d be freaked out, but then I realized that this actually works in my favor in the event that I’m ever stabbed. It’ll take way longer for me to bleed out. Just when you thought it was safe to make me bleed to death, my body decided to be really good at clotting. This doesn’t help me any when I’m lying down on a cot for enough time to watch an entire episode of Community and the opening two scenes of an episode of  Parks and Recreation. I’m just glad they set up the donation center next to the computers in the commons so I had something to amuse me. Though I guess I can’t really say that quality television programming gets the blood flowing…

 

Ciao Bella!

Matteo “Bleed Me Dry” Yazge

Leave a Reply

