Ally McBeal: SUCCESS.

Oh, hey Calista. Whatcha got in that suitcase?

 

So the best news I’ve heard all week: Netflix now has the full run of Ally McBeal on instant watch. It’s been a while since I even thought about this lovely little gem of a show. I regularly follow Calista on Brothers & Sisters, but the last time I watched Ally McBeal was when it originally aired on television. Granted, I was like 11 years old. Don’t ask my what my parents were doing that they let an eleven-year-old watch this show… I think I convinced them that the dancing baby was enough proof that it was child appropriate.

One thing that I’m now noticing about the show, or at least the first season, is the melodramatic narration from Ally’s character. I’m wondering why Lifetime or WE hasn’t picked up this show for syndication yet. I can’t remember which season Lucy Liu and Portia DeRossi come onto the show, and when the show finally hit its stride. Because those are the episodes I remember, and were a lot more outrageously funny and less “woe is me for being single.” If there’s one thing I don’t find entertaining, it’s middle-aged women complaining about their love lives. Don’t get me wrong. I’m loving every Netflixed minute of this show. I’m just eager to get to the dancing baby episode again, and relive my twisted, adult-television-watching childhood.

 

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

Leave a Reply

