Family Matters

Liz and Eller, this is what you get for being lame and ditching us early in the week…

 

One of my best friends always reminds me that you don’t get to pick your biological family. You do, however, get to pick the people that make up your “other family” – though, as evidenced above, it doesn’t mean they’re any better at getting together for group pictures. For the fourth year in a row I spent New Years with my “family”, and wouldn’t have spent it any other way, even thought two of our five ditched us for significant others halfway through the trip. Though maybe next year y’all can come see me? Driving for seven straight hours is not really my idea of a fun way to bookend our visits.

Originally I was going to say something sappy about how much I love people, or how much you should love people, or just how much people should love people… you know, generally. But I’m fresh out of sap. Sorry. So instead, I’m asking for audience participation. What makes you sappy? Do you have another family? Is this a group of friends, or a completely different biological family you’ve been hiding from family #1? Did you meet this family on Craigslist? Did the Lifetime Network recently make a movie about your life? Are you the Craigslist Killer? How did the piss-poor acting make you feel about the depiction of your life story? Discuss.

Ciao Bella!

Matteo Yazge

2 responses to “Family Matters

  1. You know what makes me sappy? You guys.

    I never liked my actual family much. They were crazy and dysfunctional and sort of a pain in the butt.

    But you guys are the best family ever. And hands down, the best “choice” family a girl could ask for. I love you all so much. SO MUCH so that the girl who has no sappy feelings (me) is absolutely sappy over you.

    What would I do without you?

Leave a Reply

